Trying New Things

I’ve always felt that trying something that didn’t work isn’t a failure. It’s a learning experience.

I’ve been trying quite a few new things lately. In painting, I’ve been experimenting with new techniques and tools. Many of the lessons I can find online deal with oil paints, which I haven’t tried yet, so I have tried to adapt some of the methods to acrylic paint, with mixed results. Acrylics dry way too fast for me to accomplish what I want. Still, I am not completely unhappy with the results.

This picture was a complete experiment. I was trying out some new techniques, and for the first time ever used a landscape knife. If I were to do it over, I would use different colours, but I learned a lot even so.

This weekend I am trying something completely different. If it works, I’ll post it when it’s finished.

Published by

gini

Exploring my creative side

Leave a Reply

